Croatia

From Albania we went through Montenegro to get to Croatia. At the Montenegro border I found out that the 15 euro insurance for Albania was only for Albania, so I had to buy a 10 euro insurance for Montenegro only. Finally at the Croatian border, I got EU green card insurance for 620 kn (about 80 euro) for a month. Between Dubrovnik and Split we went through a tiny stretch of Bosnia and Herzegovina, were my green card wasn’t valid, but nobody asked so I didn’t bother with insurance.

The roads in Montenegro were decent but quite crowded. The roads in Croatia a mostly perfect, and the coast road is very scenic and twisty. We’ve had clear, sunny skies, so the biking has been very enjoyable.

The first night in Croatia, we stayed in Dubrovnik, right beside the awesome old town/castle (you can actually ride into the old town through a narrow walled passage that made me feel like a knight with a very loud exhaust pipe on my horse):

We liked Dubrovnik (and the Exit rock bar) so much we decided to stay an extra day, the first day not on my bike since Bandar Abbas.

Split was nice too, though you are not allowed to enter the old town with your motorbike, we even got fined for it because somebody called the cops. We stayed in a hostel that was actually closed for renovations, but the cool owner let us in. I also had my jeans washed here for the first time since India.

In Split I had to adjust my exhaust valve clearance again, Anushka is definitely needing a serious overhaul, but hopefully we’ll make it back to Geneva for it.

Now we’re in Zadar, staying right in the middle of the old town. Still a very nice place to be, but less impressive than Dubrovnik.

Tomorrow we head for Rijeka, our last day in Croatia. It has been a short but enjoyable visit. The Croatian coast is a great biking road, and there’s good food and accommodation everywhere. In the peak season it is probably very crowded, so now is not such a bad time to visit considering our luck with the weather so far.

Leave a comment